Switching from AI Dungeon usually comes down to three questions: how a story stays consistent, what content rules apply, and what a plan costs. Each question sounds simple, yet each one sits on a different page that you have to find, open and read against the app you use today. Many players skip that step, judge a service by a screenshot or a ranked list, and then meet a limit after the payment has already gone through.
Before paying for an AI Dungeon alternative, read what its own pages say about memory, content rules and price, and ask about any gap first. A gap is not a defect. It is a marker that shows where a provider has not yet said something you need to know, and a marker like that is worth having before money changes hands.
The table below puts four providers side by side, with a link to the provider's own page in each cell and a marker where a page is silent. The sections after it read the table one column at a time, then close with a short checklist you can run on the live pages before you subscribe or move a saved story.
Which AI Dungeon alternatives are worth comparing?
NovelAI, Friends & Fables and DungeonsDeep.ai are the three alternatives compared here against AI Dungeon, which stays as the running baseline. The shortlist is short on purpose. A long list makes a comparison shallow, because every extra name adds another set of pages to open and another set of cells that may stay empty, and three alternatives against one baseline is a size a reader can finish in a single sitting.
The shortlist keeps providers with their own pricing, terms and policy pages, so each comparison cell can link to a first-party page. A provider without those pages would leave a hole in every row, and a hole in every row is a guess dressed up as a comparison. Names that came up in roundups but left those pages out of reach were dropped rather than filled in from hearsay.
AI Dungeon is the fixed baseline, and every alternative is described under the same four headings of memory, content controls, price and play style. Those four headings match the questions a switching player asks first. Memory decides whether a long story holds together, content controls decide what the story can become, price decides how long you can keep playing, and play style decides whether the app fits how you like to tell a story.
One baseline keeps the comparison steady, because each alternative is measured against the app you already know. A reader who already plays AI Dungeon can read each alternative row as a direct swap against the same four headings, without learning a new scoring scale. The comparison does not hand out stars or a winner. It lays the published facts next to one another and leaves the weighing to you, since the right choice depends on the kind of stories you tell and on how long you tell them.
A roundup can point you toward a name worth checking, but a name is a lead and the provider's own pages are where the facts sit. That is why every fact below carries a link to the page it came from, and why a fact without such a page stays out of the table.
How do the four providers compare on published facts?
The matrix gives AI Dungeon, NovelAI, Friends & Fables and DungeonsDeep.ai one row each, with a verified-versus-unpublished column that separates stated facts from silence. The table has one comparable row for each shortlisted provider, with columns for memory, content controls, entry price and play style. In the completed table, AI Dungeon's row is the baseline and each alternative row repeats the same four columns in the same order.
AI Dungeon and three alternatives, one sourced row each, with unpublished cells marked
| Provider | Row summary | Memory | Content controls | Entry price | Play style | State |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI Dungeon (baseline): memory system, safety settings, model choice, membership price, privacy | AI Dungeon, the baseline row, records its Memory System, three safety levels, published membership prices and encrypted stories. | Memory System with Auto Summarization and a Memory Bank | Safe, Moderate and Mature levels, with an 18+ confirmation for Mature | $14.99 a month, free tier at 4k tokens of context | Text adventure game | VERIFIED |
| NovelAI: lorebook memory, model choice, subscription price, privacy | NovelAI, the second row, records its lorebook, model documentation, subscriptions from $10 a month and end-to-end encrypted stories, with free-tier terms marked unclear. | Lorebook entries inserted when an activation key appears in recent context | Users must be 18 or older, with no level picker on the pages read | From $10 a month, free access unclear | Story generator built to write with the player | VERIFIED |
| Friends & Fables: memory claim, content terms, model choice, plan price, privacy | Friends & Fables, the third row, records its advanced-memory claim, a daily turn limit of up to 25 turns and a $19.95 monthly plan, with the memory mechanism marked unpublished. | Unpublished, since the home page names advanced memory but no mechanism | 18+, and the game master may produce adult-oriented output | $19.95 a month, free option up to 25 turns a day | AI game master that adapts to the player's choices | UNCLEAR |
| DungeonsDeep.ai: saves, content terms, plan price, privacy | DungeonsDeep.ai, the fourth row, records persistent saves, 75 trial turns and plans from $9.95 a month, with the memory mechanism and model choice marked unpublished. | Unpublished, since the home page names persistent saves but no memory mechanism | Mature themes like tabletop play, under-18 use only with a parent or guardian agreeing | $9.95 to $39.95 a month, 75 trial turns | Fantasy roleplaying game with parties of up to five | UNCLEAR |
The matrix rests on per-cell first-party sources with an explicit unpublished marker. Every cell links the exact first-party page it comes from, and a cell the provider's pages leave silent reads unpublished instead of being filled with a guess. A reader scanning down the entry-price column sees four dollar figures, each linked to a provider page, and one free-access cell marked unclear.
The reusable verified-versus-unpublished column shows at a glance which rows are fully sourced, with the Friends & Fables memory cell as the worked example of an unpublished answer. The Friends & Fables memory cell reads unpublished with the home page linked, and it serves as the complete worked example of how a silent cell is marked.
Read the state column as a summary and the cells as the detail. A row marked VERIFIED has its main facts stated on first-party pages. A row marked UNCLEAR has at least one answer the provider's pages did not give, and that answer is the first thing to ask about. An unclear row is not a warning against the provider. It is a to-do item for you, and a short message to support often settles it before any card is entered.
Two habits make the table easier to use. First, read down a column rather than across a row, because a column shows how the same question is answered by four different providers and makes the gaps stand out. Second, open the linked page for any cell that decides your choice, since a page can change after this table was read and the live version is the one that counts.
What does each provider say about story memory?
AI Dungeon documents a two-part Memory System and NovelAI documents a lorebook, while Friends & Fables and DungeonsDeep.ai name memory or saves without describing a mechanism. The first thing to read is story memory: what each provider publishes about how it keeps a story consistent.
Memory matters because a long story is a chain of small promises: a name, a debt, a scar, a plan made three scenes ago. When the app forgets one of them, the story stops feeling like yours. A provider that explains its memory gives you something to test, and a provider that does not leaves you guessing until you have already invested time in a campaign.
On AI Dungeon's help page, Auto Summarization and the Memory Bank make up the Memory System. In the matrix, AI Dungeon's memory cell shows both parts of that system. The two parts do different jobs: a summary keeps the shape of the story in view, while a bank of remembered items keeps individual facts within reach.
In NovelAI's lorebook, each entry has its own activation keys, and when a key is found in the recent context, the entry's text gets inserted into the context. In the matrix, NovelAI's memory cell names the lorebook and links its documentation page. A lorebook rewards a writer who likes to prepare, because you decide which names and places get an entry and which words bring that entry back.
Read How AI companion memory works for how memory works in companion apps generally.
Friends & Fables' home page mentions advanced memory and customization. The pages read for Friends & Fables and DungeonsDeep.ai do not describe how memory works, so both memory cells read unpublished. A phrase on a home page tells you what a provider wants you to expect, and it does not tell you how the memory behaves in the middle of a long session.
DungeonsDeep.ai's home page lists persistent saves, with nothing lost and every choice preserved. A reader comparing memory across providers can ask support how saves work before trusting a long campaign to either service. Good questions are short ones: whether a story keeps its earlier scenes in view, what happens when a story grows long, and whether a saved story can be reopened on another device.
If you want a hands-on answer, run a small test in the free tier of each service you are considering. Plant three facts in the first scenes, play on for a while, and then ask a question that depends on them. The result belongs to you and to that day, so keep it as a note to yourself rather than a fact about the provider.
What do content controls and age rules say?
AI Dungeon publishes three selectable safety levels, while the alternatives state age rules and content terms on their own terms pages. Next comes content controls and age gating stated on first-party policy pages.
Content controls decide what a story is allowed to become, and age rules decide who is allowed to tell it. Both belong in a comparison for adult readers, because a service that fits your taste in one respect can still be the wrong place for you in the other. Read the controls as a description of the service and read the age rule as a condition of using it.
On AI Dungeon's help page, there are three levels of AI Safety Settings: Safe, Moderate, and Mature. In the matrix, AI Dungeon's content-controls cell names the three levels. A level picker is a practical feature, since one account can move between a gentler setting for one story and a fuller setting for another.
For its Mature level, AI Dungeon's help page says you must confirm that you are 18+. In the matrix, the Mature level carries the age confirmation next to it. The confirmation is a small gate, and it is a reminder that the fullest setting is meant for adults.
NovelAI's terms say users must be 18 years or older. In the matrix, NovelAI's content-controls cell states the age rule from its terms. The pages read for NovelAI describe an age rule rather than a set of named levels, so the cell says exactly that and adds nothing more.
Friends & Fables' terms say you must be at least 18 years old to use the Service. The Friends & Fables cell cites its terms page for the age rule. A reader can keep both age rules in mind while looking at the third row, because the two services state the same threshold in different words.
Friends & Fables' terms add that the AI Game Master may be able to produce adult-oriented or explicit Outputs. A reader who wants to avoid adult output can read that clause on the terms page before choosing. The clause is a plain notice, and it is worth reading in full rather than through a summary, since the wording around it explains what a reader can and cannot expect.
DungeonsDeep.ai describes mature themes of the kind found in tabletop games, and its terms set a separate condition for readers under the age of majority. That condition differs from the adult rule this comparison assumes, so the DungeonsDeep.ai cell keeps the wording of its own terms and this article does not extend it. This comparison is written for adults, and a household with younger players needs a different kind of check.
What do entry prices and free access look like?
Each provider publishes its own price and free-access terms on a separate page, so read them side by side before you subscribe. The third fact to settle is entry pricing and free-access limits for each provider.
A price is a bundle of several things. It has a size, a billing rhythm, a trial or free option, and a limit on how much play the plan covers. A cheap plan with a tight limit can cost more per hour of play than a dearer plan with a loose one, so the figures below are a starting point for your own arithmetic rather than a ranking.
On AI Dungeon's membership page, Free gets up to 4k tokens of context, Journey gets up to 8k, Legend gets up to 16k, and Mythic and Ultimate gets up to 32k. A reader can match those context sizes against the length of the stories they usually run. Context is the amount of story the model can look at when it writes the next passage, so a short context suits short scenes and a long context suits long campaigns.
AI Dungeon's membership page adds that these subscriptions are auto-renewing, and Journey and Legend include a one-week trial with purchase. Check the renewal terms on the purchase screen before you start a trial. A trial that turns into a paid month is easy to forget, so a calendar reminder for the day before the renewal is a cheap habit.
NovelAI's home page says its subscriptions start at $10 a month. NovelAI's free-access cell reads unclear because the pages read here are silent on a free tier. Silence on a free tier is a reason to look at the live page before signing up, and it is not a statement that no free option exists.
Friends & Fables' pricing page lists $19.95USD a month. A reader can set the Friends & Fables price beside the AI Dungeon and NovelAI figures before choosing. Set the three figures next to the play limits each plan carries, and the picture changes from a row of prices into a question about how much play you want per month.
DungeonsDeep.ai's pricing page says plans range from $9.95 to $39.95 per month and new players get 75 turns to try the platform. A reader with long sessions can convert the trial turns into play time before choosing a tier. A turn is a single exchange, so the arithmetic is simple: estimate how many exchanges a typical evening takes and divide the trial by that number.
Currency and tax can shift a displayed price at checkout, so the figure on the payment screen is the one that binds. Read it slowly, and compare it with the figure on the pricing page before you confirm.
Which price claims disagree with the provider's own page?
AI Dungeon's own membership page settles the price, so a lower figure quoted elsewhere is a reason to check before paying. The last fact concerns price claims that conflict with the provider's own membership page.
Prices drift. A provider adjusts a plan, a promotion ends, a tier is renamed, and a third-party article keeps repeating the old figure long after the change. The reader who lands on that article sees a friendly number and starts to plan around it, which is how a small mismatch turns into a surprise on the payment screen.
AI Dungeon's membership page lists $14.99 USD per month. On the day you pay, the membership page is the place to confirm the figure against any price seen elsewhere. Write the figure down from the page itself, with the date, and keep it until the first invoice arrives.
A roundup on feelin.ai says AI Dungeon's premium tier costs $9.99 a month at the entry level. A roundup figure is a hint to check, and the provider's own page settles it. The two figures do not match, and one of them comes from the provider that sells the plan.
Third-party roundups often update faster than a provider's help pages, so they may show newer prices. That is a fair objection, and the answer is simple. A roundup repeats whatever price its author last saw, so the provider's own membership page is the figure to trust on the day you pay.
If the provider's page and a roundup disagree, the mismatch is worth a short note to support. Ask which figure applies to your country and which plan it belongs to. The reply tells you whether the page is current, and it shows how the provider handles a question before you sign up.
Do you want solo storytelling or tabletop-style rules?
The four providers describe different kinds of play, from solo storytelling to party games, so pick the one whose own description matches how you like to play. The last filter is play-style fit: solo storytelling versus rules-driven tabletop play.
Play style is the filter that memory, content and price cannot replace. A service can remember well, cover a wide range of themes and cost little, and still feel wrong if it expects you to run a party when you want to write alone, or expects you to write alone when you want to roll dice with friends. Read each description as a promise about how a session feels.
AI Dungeon's home page calls it a free AI text adventure game where players create open-ended stories. A solo reader can use the play-style cell to see which providers describe one person steering a story. Open-ended is the key word for a solo player: the story goes where your next message sends it.
NovelAI's home page describes a story generator built to write with you, not for you. The NovelAI cell repeats that description and adds no detail the page does not state. It reads as a writing partner for someone who wants to keep authorship, which is a different job from running a game.
DungeonsDeep.ai's terms describe a fantasy roleplaying game with combat, peril, and mature themes of the kind found in tabletop roleplaying games. A group that wants shared sessions can read the pricing page for the party details before choosing. Rules-driven play suits readers who like a structure to push against.
DungeonsDeep.ai's pricing page says every tier supports multiplayer parties of up to 5, where non-paying friends play on the host's turns. A host can read that line to see how friends who do not pay would join a party. It is worth asking the friends how often they would play before choosing a tier for the host.
Friends & Fables' home page says its AI Game Master adapts to your choices and creates dynamic storylines. The Friends & Fables cell records the AI Game Master description and adds no rules detail the page does not state. An AI game master sits between a solo writing tool and a full tabletop game, and a reader who likes to be guided may enjoy that middle position.
Readers who want an ongoing character to talk with rather than a game to play are choosing a different kind of product than the four compared here. Read the Character.AI alternatives guide for ongoing character chat. Read the Best AI chatbot for roleplay guide for roleplay-focused chat.
Readers who want an ongoing companion character rather than a turn-based story can start from Pleasur.AI's Create Your AI Character page. That page sits outside the comparison table and is not presented as a text-adventure game or a ranked alternative.
What should you verify before paying or moving saved stories?
Before paying or moving saved stories, confirm renewal and trial terms, turn allowances, free-access terms and plan limits on each provider's live pages. The last pass is a switching checklist: what to verify before paying or moving saved stories.
A checklist earns its place at the end of a comparison, because a comparison shows what was published on the day of reading and the checklist turns each open question into an action. Work through it in order, and stop at the first item that raises a doubt.
AI Dungeon's membership page describes auto-renewing plans, so the live purchase screen is the place to read renewal, trial and cancellation terms. The checklist's first item asks the reader to open the live purchase screen and note renewal, trial and cancellation terms before subscribing. A screenshot of that screen, saved with the date, is a useful record if a question comes up later.
DungeonsDeep.ai counts turns instead of hours, so estimating turns per session shows whether a plan allowance matches real play. The second item converts a planned session length into turns so a reader can compare it with the DungeonsDeep.ai allowance. Play a short session in the trial, count the exchanges, and multiply by the number of sessions you expect in a month.
NovelAI's trial terms and Friends & Fables' narration tiers were not readable on the pages checked, so both stay open questions until the live pages answer them. The third item lists the two open questions, NovelAI trial terms and Friends & Fables narration tiers, as things to read on the live pages. If a page still does not answer, write to support and keep the reply.
Saved-story portability is not covered by any fact in the comparison, so it stays a question to put to each provider before moving a long campaign. The last item asks the reader to write down the export question and send it to the provider before moving any saved story. A story that took months to build deserves a copy in a place you control before you commit to a new service.
Read JanitorAI alternatives when you are moving over from a different brand and want to compare adjacent switches.
Pick the alternative whose own pages publish the facts you rely on, count every unpublished cell as a question to settle before paying, and keep AI Dungeon until those answers arrive.
Open each provider's live pricing and terms pages, work through the checklist above, and move saved stories once the answers are in writing.
A blank cell in a comparison is information, because it marks the exact question a provider has not yet answered.
Article by
Theo Hart
Writer at Pleasur.ai covering AI companions, technology, and the future of AI interaction. Passionate about making AI accessible and safe for everyone.
Try Pleasur.ai free
Free adult chat and images after signup
Create a free account to start chatting and generating images. No credit card at signup — upgrade with coins when you want more.